In 1978, a group of Latino educators from a few colleges and universities in the state met in New Haven to discuss the prospects of establishing a professional network. It was determined that the Hispanic presence in Connecticut higher education was beginning to take on a new demographic significance and that it was time to address in a methodic way the unique needs of Latino students, staff, faculty and administrators in the state's colleges and universities. Soon thereafter, the network - the Connecticut Association of Latinos in Higher Education (CALAHE) - was established. Today, CALAHE is a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting the participation of Latinos in different areas of post-secondary education in Connecticut. Membership is comprised of Latino and non-Latino personnel and students from institutions of higher and secondary education, and other professional organizations who share in the spirit of our mission.


The Connecticut Association of Latinos in Higher Education (CALAHE) is dedicated to promoting and advocating full access, retention and participation of Latinos/Latinas throughout Connecticut higher education.


To promote access of Latinos/Latinas in Connecticut higher education.

To promote hiring of Latinos/Latinas in Connecticut higher education.

To encourage Connecticut higher education to provide necessary retention services for our Latino/Latina students and employees.

To encourage Connecticut higher education to develop and maintain recruitment and retention services and programs.

To monitor and influence public policy and legislation related to higher education in the State of Connecticut.

To promote the representation of Latinos/Latinas at the policy level.

To promote and facilitate the participation of Latino communities in higher education throughout Connecticut.

CALAHE Board of Directors

President - Dr. Christina Irizarry, UConn
President Elect - Vacant
Vice President - Vacant
Secretary - Dr. Licella Arboleda,  CSCU
Treasurer - Mrs. Yolanda Sazo, ECSU
Past President - Mrs. Myrna Garcia-Bowen, CCSU
Past President - Dr. Wilson Luna, GWCC (retired)
Board Member at Large - Mrs. Anna Rivera-Alfaro, SCSU
Board Member - Mr. Eduardo Miranda, CCC
Board Member - Mr. Esteban Garcia, SCSU
Board Member - Vacant Position
Board Member - Vacant Position

Past Presidents
Mrs. Myrna Garcia Bowen 2007- 2020
Dr. Maria D. Martinez 2005 - 2007
Dr. Peter Rosa 2003 - 2005
Mr. Domingo Arias 1998 - 2003
Dr. Fay Miller 1993 - 1998
Dr. Edgar Colon 1993 - 1993
Ms. Grissel B. Hodge 1991 - 1993
Mr. Luis Melendez 1989 - 1991
Ms. Yvette Melendez 1987 - 1989
Dr. Wilson Luna 1983 - 1987
Dr. Rosa Quezada 1982 - 1983
Dr. Marta Vallin 1978 - 1982, Founding President